Skip to content

Town board meets for first time

Be the first to share!
By Fiona Reid
Dumfries and West
Town board meets for first time

ALL the names of the new members of the Dumfries Town Board have been revealed.

It is made up of 15 men and women from various sectors, groups and backgrounds and led by newly chosen chairman Richie Nicoll.

They met for the first time on Wednesday night and afterwards Mr Nicoll, an army veteran and businessman, said: “I am absolutely delighted with the response from the volunteers. I have selected an energised board that brings a fantastic array of experience to the table from variable backgrounds.

“What is abundantly clear after the inaugural board meeting, is the passion from every single individual to make Dumfries better.”

His members are: Chief Superintendent John Cairns, of Police Scotland; Cllr Maureen Johnstone; Cllr David Slater; Alister Jack MP; Billy Currie, Dumfries and Galloway College’s director of estates; Kenny Bowie, president of DG Chamber of Commerce; Lisa Callender-Bone of Include Us/Catherine Street Inclusive Park; retired councillor Tom McAughtrie; community councillor John Dowson; publican Jamie Milligan; retired police sergeant Dale Graham; Laura Thomas from Helping Dumfries & Galloway/Rosefield Mills Gallery CIC; Summerhill Community Centre manager AnneMarie Coulter MBE; and John Caskie MBE, Guid Nychburris Association chairman.

The board will next meet on April 17.


12th Apr

Bus services are broken, says MSP

By Fiona Reid | DNG24