Skip to content

Nine line up to be new town board chair

Be the first to share!
By Fiona Reid
Dumfries and West
Nine line up to be new town board chair

NINE people have been shortlisted to be the chair of the new Dumfries Town Board, with the candidate to be picked next week.

Sixteen nominations were received in total and following discussions, the list has been whittled down for councillors to select from.

The finalists are:

* Robin Wishart: chair of Dumfries Partnership Action Group (DPAG) and of Loreburn Community Council

* Gwilym Gibbons: chief executive of The Crichton Trust

* DJ McDowell: local freelance community development consultant and cultural producer

* Alexander Campbell: communications officer at NHS Dumfries and Galloway and army reservist

* Mark Jardine: Dumfries People’s Project founder

* Sitki Nalci: Dumfries and Galloway Multicultural Association chief executive

* Eric Craig: DPAG vice chair

* Jennifer Challinor: head of research and development at The Crichton Trust

* Ritchie Nicoll: local business owner and employer

The preferred candidate will be invited to take up the role for three years initially.

They will oversee the board, which will also feature elected members and other carefully selected townsfolk.

And their remit will be to “be an independent voice for the town” and to work towards the development of the £20 million long term plan, funded by the UK Government as part of the Levelling Up programme.

The decision will be made at Tuesday’s full council meeting.


12th Apr

All change at biosphere

By Fiona Reid | DNG24