Skip to content

LIVE: council election count

Be the first to share!
By Fiona Reid
LIVE: council election count

COUNTING is underway at DG One in Dumfries to determine the region's next batch of 43 councillors.

Annandale East and Eskdale will announce their result first and it’s not far away. There are three places up for grabs in the ward, which covers Gretna, Ecclefechan and Langholm – and seven candidates contesting it. Result to follow.

10.45 am: Our first results are in and it’s for Annandale East and Eskdale. The following have been elected: Karen Carruthers (Con); Archie Dryburgh (Lab) and Denis Male (Indep). The voter turnout was 48.2 %.

11.28: Result for Annandale North: Lynne Davis (Con); Gail MacGregor (Con); Stephen Thompson (SNP); Carolyne Wilson (Lab). Turnout: 48.8%

12.20: Annandale South’s new councillors are: Sean Marshall (Lab); Ian Carruthers (Con); Richard Brodie (Lib Dem); and George Jamieson (SNP).

1.20 pm: Five wards have now declared out of 12. So far there are 7 Conservatives, 5 Labour, 4 SNP, 1 Lib Dem and 2 independents elected.



24th May

Beattock school reopening plans on schedule

By Marc McLean, local democracy reporter | DNG24