Skip to content

Dumfries politicians become regional MSPs

1 Share
By Rod Edgar
Dumfries politicians become regional MSPs

A SHAKE-UP in the results of the List ballot has seen new faces elected to represent the South of Scotland.

NEW ROLES . . . SNP regional MSP Emma Harper and Labour MSP Colin Smyth

The Conservatives gained two List MSPs in the South of Scotland through yesterday’s election — at the expense of the SNP and Liberal Democrats.
While voters elected Tories Oliver Mundell and Finlay Carson in the two constituency ballots, the regional list vote saw the party climb from no seats in 2011 to two in 2016, the SNP fall from four seats to three, Labour remain static on two, and the Liberal Democrats lose their only seat.
The two new Tory List MSPs are Rachael Hamilton and Brian Whittle.
Joan McAlpine and Paul Wheelhouse meanwhile return as SNP List MSPs, joined by Emma Harper who stood unsuccessfully against returned MP David Mundell in the Dumfriesshire constituency in last year’s General Election.
Scottish Environment Minister Aileen McLeod was not returned as a List MSP after losing to Finlay Carson in the Galloway and West Dumfries constituency ballot yesterday, and also missing is Chic Brodie.
Claudia Beamish returns as a List MSP for Labour, and joining her in a spot previously held by Graeme Pearson is Colin Smyth — a senior member of the Dumfries and Galloway Council Labour administration.
A total of 314,192 valid votes were cast in the South of Scotland List ballot, with a turnout of 59 per cent.
The Scottish National Party polled 120,217 votes, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party polled 100,753, the Scottish Labour Party polled 56,072, the Scottish Green Party polled 14,773, the Scottish Liberal Democrats polled 11,775, the UK Independence Party (UKIP) polled 6726, Clydesdale and South Scotland Independent polled 1485, Solidarity polled 1294, and RISE polled 1097.

Dumfries and West, Front

24th May

Parents furious at council school site choice

By Euan Maxwell | DNG24