Skip to content

Chosen candidates take a bow

Be the first to share!
By Fiona Reid
Chosen candidates take a bow

A GROUP of young people are starting 2024 as the region’s newest councillors.

They were successful in the Dumfries and Galloway’s Regional Youth Council elections and were voted in by thousands of 12-25 year olds living locally.

The 35 chosen youngsters will volunteer as youth representatives over the next two years.

Four of them are Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) for the region; there are 24 Ward Youth Councillors; seven are Nominated Youth Councillors, representing groups including young parents, young carers, care experienced young people, ethnic minority youth, Gypsy/Traveller youth, LGBT youth and young people with additional support needs and disabilities.

Speaking about the elections, outgoing chairperson of Dumfries and Galloway Youth Council and MSYP for Galloway and West Dumfries, Finlay Anderson said: “The youth elections have provided an opportunity for young people to take part in the democratic process across Dumfries and Galloway. I would like to wish the new cohort of young people elected to the Youth Council and Scottish Youth Parliament every success over the next two years, and to continue building on the good work undertaken by Youth Council members over the last two terms since 2019.”

And Councillor Ian Blake, from Dumfries and Galloway Council, added: “I am delighted to have seen the youth elections unfold, with 3659 young people turning out to have their say.

“Congratulations to all new elects who have been successful.”


Dumfriesshire: Caitlyn Walton and Skye Allan

Galloway & West Dumfries: Louise Church and Daniel Upson,

Ward Youth Councillors

Stranraer and the Rhins: Zuzanna Kowalska and Adrian Dargie

Mid Galloway and Wigtown West: Jasper Williams, Max Heughan

Dee and Glenkens: Mariena Kirk and Stewart Walker

Castle Douglas and Crocketford: Morven Callander, Cormac Fraiel

Abbey: Arrow Whelan and Beth Wright Hall

North West Dumfries: Stevie Allison and Ryan McLaughlan

Lochar: Riley True and Dayle Smith

Mid and Upper Nithsdale: Joel Goldsworthy and Maisie Brown

Nith: Ava Nosratzadeh and Lucy Waugh

Annandale South: Ailsa McDairmant and Lydia-Elizabeth Shaw

Annandale North: Konnal Allen and Naomi Scott

Annandale East and Eskdale: Riley Brannan

Nominated Youth Councillors

Additional Support Needs and Disabilities: Jade Kirkpatrick

Care Experienced: Keirra Murphy

LGBT Youth: Thomas Paine

Young Carers: Megan Adams


23rd Feb

Galloway Hoard discovery put into context

By Fiona Reid | DNG24