Newsdesk: 01461 202 417 | Search
Change Language:

Read online with DnG Digital

Super seven set headship standards

Section:  Annan and Eskdale, Dumfries and West, Lockerbie and Lochmaben, Moffat  | Tags: ,

SEVEN school leaders from across Dumfriesshire have been recognised for attaining the Standard for Headship.

And an awards ceremony was held this week by Dumfries and Galloway Council to recognise the group’s achievements.

They are Lesley Farrell, headteacher at Johnstonebridge and Nethermill Primary Schools; Ruth Cubbon, principal teacher at St Michael’s Primary School; Claire Storey, principal teacher at St Ninian’s Primary School; Alison Chambers, deputy headteacher at Moffat Academy; Melinda Clark, headteacher at Hoddom, Hottsbridge and Eaglesfield primaries; Jamie Farquhar, deputy head at Dumfries Academy/acting headteacher at Dumfries High School; and Kenny Pullen, principal teacher at Dumfries High.
Congratulating them, Cllr Jeff Leaver said: “This demonstrates their commitment to their profession and their aspiration to develop as effective school leaders. We wholeheartedly congratulate them on this significant achievement and wish them continuing success in their leadership role.”
Meanwhile, a record number of new teachers have picked up their pencils in the region.
Dumfries and Galloway Council’s education service welcomed 97 probationer teachers at the start of the new term.

Share this story:
This story hasn't been shared yet.
Comments/editorial complaints